The Lake House

12224 US-34, Grand Lake, 80447, United States
  based on 66 reviews
  •   8
  •   2
  •   2
  • SQF 2,700
  •  wifi
  •  A/C
  •  Parking


2700' Lake & River front Home-floor to ceiling windows and fireplaces, canoes inc

Gorgeous LAKEFRONT (and riverfront too) home on Shadow Mountain lake where the Colo River enters the lake. New carpet, paint, deck, roof, many appliances,hardwood flooring, etc. Sleeps up to 8 in beds ( plus tons of extra space) with 2 huge executive bedrooms, twin bunk beds in separate expanded hall area with a window to the lake, window seat in master bedroom--and a new high-end sofa bed ( double) in the sunken living room and an air mattress, if you need it too--and 2 and 1/4 bathrooms , one w/ sunken tub and bidet, floor to ceiling windows and rock fireplaces. Fully equipped in luxury furnishings, antiques, Egyptian linens, top flight mattresses, antique furniture, aspen wood bed, Persian rugs, etc. Free firewood included, large kitchen, fully equipped and supplied, sunken L.R. w/ floor to ceiling rock fireplace. Family room also has floor to ceiling moss rock fireplace and floor to ceiling windows to lake and river view. Huge deck ( about 800 sq ft)--BBQ--more, more, more! FULLY WI-FI AND CABLE READY. Lots of T.V's and channels. Caretaker lives in basement apartment--No common entrance between caretaker apt. and home. Canoes included--paddle boat too. Brand new hardwood floor, new carpet, new paint, luxury, home, well stocked, and the best lake and river front wildlife viewing and canoeing location in Grand County.


2 Bathroom, 2 Bedroom, 1 Dining-Room, 1 Kitchen, 1 Living room, 2 Toilet

  • Sleeping
    Bed linen, 1 King bed, 2 Loft bed, 1 Queen bed, 2 Sofa bed
  • Cooking
    Coffee machine, Cooking utensils, Dishwasher, Kitchenette, Kitchen stove, Microwave, Oven, Refrigerator, Toaster
  • Heating/Cooling
    Air conditioning, Ceiling fans, Fireplace, Heating available
  • Entertainment
    Wireless Broadband Internet, TV (Cable)
  • Sanitary
    Hair dryer, Essentials, Shower, Towel-set, Washbasin
  • Laundry
    Clothes dryer, Iron & Board, Washing machine
  • Miscellaneous
    Carbon Monoxide Detector, Fire Extinguisher, First aid kit, Smoke Detector
  • 2 Bathroom, 2 Bedroom, 1 Dining-Room, 1 Kitchen, 1 Living room, 2 Toilet
  • Parking
    Parking Included
Pets welcome, Smoking not allowed,Credit cards accepted, Accessible 24/7
Check in:
4:00 PM
Check out:
10:00 AM

12224 US-34 , Grand Lake, 80447, United States


100 Mi  

based on 66 reviews
Review #55294877
SPACE2BSAFE Private Luxury Home LAKE/RIVERfront home w/kayaks,Prvt Fishing Incl

I have absolutely no complaints except that, at the end of our week, we actually had to leave. This location is AMAZING. I have no words to describe how gorgeous this spot is. And the owners and caretaker provide everything you could possibly need, including the medical tape my child needed because she spent so much time on the fleet of kayaks and canoes that she blistered her hands up but still couldn't stop. The bed situation worked perfectly for our family (we put the early risers out in the living room bunks and the hall/nook daybed and those of us who slept in had bedrooms). While the house was cozy and wonderful, it really is the location that makes this place impossible to leave. We can't wait to come back. Date of arrival - July 12, 2020

Thank you so very much! Tracee/owner

replied by the owner (7/23/2020 8:05:11 PM)

Family with young children  |  stayed in 7/2020

Jennifer W.
Amazing Property!

This property far surpassed our expectations! The cabin was beautiful and included everything you could possibly need for your stay. The location on the river/lake was breathtaking and our entire family had a wonderful time. We will certainly be back again!

Thank you so very much. Tracee

replied by the owner (6/17/2020 6:30:19 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 6/2020

Brian D.
Amazing Place

This was an amazing stay and we had no issues or concerns. We had a great fathers day weekend and created memories for a lifetime. Would highly recommend.

Thank you so much. That means a lot during CoVid 2020. Thanks, Tracee/owner

replied by the owner (7/23/2020 5:53:01 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 6/2020

Cassandra D.
Beautiful Memories

We are a family with young kids (7,5,1) and this house met every need! Clean, cozy and very relaxing. View was spectacular and we paddle boarded daily and took the kayaks out as well. Loved it!

I am so glad we met your needs and desires. In CoVid 2020 it is hard, right? Take care and be safe. Tracee

replied by the owner (7/23/2020 5:56:54 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 6/2020

Caitie S.
Breathtakingly beautiful

Wow! This lakehouse was amazing. We had a amazing weekend in a lakehouse that was very cozy and welcoming. It snowed all weekend long while we were in grand lake i loved watching the snow fall from the huge windows in the master bedroom. Very relaxing! I loved it and I will be back soon!!

Thanks. Yes, we have lots of snow and the skiing is amazing right now!

replied by the owner (6/17/2020 6:29:20 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 2/2020

Adam D.
Great cabin for multiple families

Very nice cabin on the lake that sleeps nine very comfortably! Great room setups with huge living areas and beautiful view of Shadow Mountain lake and surroundings. Would highly recommend for a big family!

Thanks. I would still caution future guests that while we have lots of square footage, we only have 2 full bedrooms. The rest are cool little nooks or former dining rooms or an office with a window that now has a daybed, etc. But thank you, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

replied by the owner (6/17/2020 6:28:18 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 12/2019

Tara T
Pretty Good - Amazing Location!

This was a wonderful setting. The property was very dated and although it said it slept 12, there were only 2 bedrooms. Maybe the listing said that and I missed it. The other beds were sub par especially paying almost $1,900 for only 2 nights. A bunk bed with a terrible mattress, a couch in the middle of the living room and a twin pull out in the back hallway. The bathroom set up was not the best either. There was an 'adjoining shower?" between the bathrooms with a clear door. The refrigerator was not functioning properly, but the very nice helpful property manager provided a cooler and ice. The deck was amazing. Watching the pelicans from the deck will be a memory fixed in my mind forever. Our daughter was out front paddle boarding and go a little nervous as there were the local moose wandering through. These points give the $Billion$ view validity. WAIT! The flowers! Off the chart flowers. The property manager has the most beautiful flowers ever! I will struggle from flower envy for a long time. :-) Thanks for providing a nice vacation spot.

Thanks for your review. I guess in our defense I need to say that while the home was originally built about 60 years ago it has new everything. I am sorry the refrigerator went out while you were there. As you know we ordered a new one on the spot, but it took 3 days to arrive. The carpet,flooring, roofing, decking, kitchen, beds, mattresses, dishwasher, stove, cook top, trash compactor, WIFI, printer, scanner, TV's ,FAX, all electronics, etc. are less than 1-4 years old.. has a lot of antiques too--tables, dishes, persian rugs, art, etc. We try to be very clear on the listing about the number of bedrooms and where the extra beds are located. We will try again to make all that clear. The bunks have 5" foam mattresses--brand new. The daybed is only 3 months old. It might be that you expected more, but remember that a party of 10+ is stressing this house and we both discussed that, and I gave you special dispensation in advance. Anyway, we apologize and we are glad you liked the view and the wildlife you saw from the deck and our flowers, etc. And again--thank you for the review. We hope we can do better next time. The new refrigerator should help.

replied by the owner (6/17/2020 6:24:17 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 8/2019

Vrbo Traveler
Loved it but a couple not so good things for price!

Was not a fan of shared space for the price. We were there only two nights. The first night we were planning on going to have a fire in the fire pit. We told the manager. She went before us with her children and we think the neighbors, they had a fire till 9:30pm. We waited till they were done. When we went out to build our fire they had doused it with water. So very difficult to restart and got really late. Night two we were going to eat out side and not sure who it was but they were downstairs , they were having a very loud not friendly conversation on their phone so we decided to eat inside because they were so loud. Just not to much privacy . Do not plan to go if you want the place to yourself. Overall, we loved the place and loved the location. Just people should know that the fire pit and the kayaks and everything is shared. And maybe the manger below has kids. Should be told to the renters .They use everything. We just needed some quietness and needed to get away from everything.

Thank you for your comments. I am so sorry you didn't reach out to me. Our on-site manager has one small girl and she never uses the facilities. However, it is true that the 4 fire pits over the 8 acres ( we own the adjoining meadow with the 3 additional river front cabins) and the canoes, are shared. We have never "run out" before and it almost sounds like neighbors were using your fire pit. Next time please call. We will chase someone like that out immediately. We apologize deeply for your experience. Tracee/owner

replied by the owner (6/17/2020 6:26:12 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 8/2019

Bret B.
All about the view and the atmosphere!

Nice home. Well cared for and clean. Mountain feel. The views and access to the lake/river are amazing. Wildlife all around, fishing, canoes/kayaks, and a great place to relax after a long day outdoors. could use an additional shower, but very manageable.

Thanks. I am designing an additional shower. It'll be a steam shower bathroom where the garden room is now. Give us until Spring and it should be done. Take care and come back any time! Tracee/owner

replied by the owner (6/17/2020 6:27:13 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 8/2019

Paige S.
Beautiful views

Gorgeous views. House had everything we needed, and was very comfortable.

Thanks. Come back anytime. Tracee

replied by the owner (6/17/2020 6:20:29 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 7/2019

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google privacy policy and Terms of Service apply.

Tracee Lorens


You're running a web browser we don't fully support. Please upgrade it for a better experience.
Our site works best with Google Chrome.
How to upgrade the browser